Udayan Mane wins 2021 Tour Championship, Order of Merit

Udayan Mane wins 2021 Tour Championship, Order of Merit

After a nail-biting final day at the season-ending Tour Championship, it was the mighty man Udayan Mane who came out best in the battle of nerves with a gritty last round of three-under 69 to grab the prestigious title.

The Olympian Mane's joy was not limited to the victory, as he also took home the PGTI Order of Merit title for the 2020-21 season.

Mane, who was at joint-lead before the start of the final round battle, shot a decent 3-under 69 in tensed conditions to win his 11th PGTI title.

The day’s best round belonged to Rashid Khan, who shot a blistering nine-under 63 on Sunday to climb ten spots and finish runner-up at 17-under 271.

Rashid Khan
Rashid Khan

Veer Ahlawat, who was in the joint and outright lead for most of the day, made seven birdies, two bogeys and a double-bogey during his last round of 69 to finish third at 16-under 272.

Veer was the joint leader with Udayan with three holes remaining but dropped out of the race with a bogey and double-bogey on the 16th and 17th holes.

India’s International star Shubhankar Sharma, the overnight joint leader, shot a final round of 72 to take tied fourth place at 15-under 273 along with four-time European Tour winner SSP Chawrasia (70). Shubhankar’s challenge faded away on the back-nine, where he conceded three bogeys and a double-bogey in exchange for two birdies.

Nephew of the legendary Indian golfer SSP Chawrasia, Sunit Chowrasia (69) finished his run at the tied sixth position after carding an overall total of 14-under 274 alongside nine-time Asian Tour winner Gaganjeet Bhullar (71).

Karandeep Kochhar, who was atop of the Order of Merit list before the final event, finished tied 23rd at six-under 282 and lost his chance of winning the Order of Merit as he completed his 2020-21 campaign at second place in the PGTI’s money list with season’s earnings of Rs. 51,00,880.

Chikkarangappa claimed tied 12th place in Jamshedpur with a total of 10-under 278. Chikka, a two-time winner in the season, thus finished third in the Order of Merit with the season’s earnings of Rs. 48,07,880.