IGU nominates three golfers for Arjuna Award 2020

IGU nominates three golfers for Arjuna Award 2020

The modern-day stars of the Indian golf Rashid Khan, Aditi Ashok, and Diksha Dagar have been nominated for Arjuna Awards 2020 by the Indian Golf Union.

These three golfers have proved their mettle in the domestic as well as in the international circuit, thereby earning this honorable nomination for this year's Arjuna Awards.

Delhi-based Rashid Khan already has numerous achievements in his bag and is constantly making efforts to add more. Last year, he not only topped the PGTI Order of Merit but also claimed the honor of being the world's top-ranked Indian golfer.

→ Winning History

Aditi Ashok

Aditi Ashok, who holds 3 Women's European Tour titles, is the only Indian woman golfer currently competing on the Ladies PGA Tour in the US, which is an achievement in itself as it is the most competitive and prominent Women's Golf Tour in the world.

→ Winning History

Diksha Dagar is an exceptional talent who holds a silver medal in Deaflympics. She also represented India at the 2018 Asian Games, before turning professional in 2019. On top of that, she also won the Women's European Tour title in her rookie year in 2019, when she won the Women's South African Open to become the youngest Indian to do so.

→ Winning History

If we call Rashid khan Mr. consistent then we all agree, because he deserves every bit of this tag. He is the most consistent and talked about Indian golfer in the national and international professional tours. His rankings made this fact even more clear, as he is currently the highest-ranked Indian golfer in the OWGR rankings.

Whereas, both Aditi and Diksha hold the ability to take the Indian Women golf to the next level by consistently performing well in the major tournaments all around the world. Their phenomenal ability to play the game impressed the critics, to see them as potential golf champions, who can write a whole new glorious chapter in Indian women's golf.

If the COVID-19 pandemic does not become an obstacle in the middle, there was a strong possibility of all the three making it to the Tokyo Olympics team.

Keeping in mind all their commitment to golf, the Indian Golf Union (IGU) proposed their names. Though the Professional Bodies, Professional Golf Tour of India (PGTI) and Women's Golf Association of India (WGAI) also express their recommendations to IGU.

The trio, with their back-to-back remarkable achievements over the past seasons, clearly shows their ability and aura in the Indian golf and clears the clouds of why the Indian Golf Union nominated their names for the prestigious Arjuna Award.

So far, 17 Indian golfers have been awarded the Arjuna Award, of which just three are women. The last woman golfer to receive a prestigious award was Nonita Lall (1987), Anjali Desai (1972), and Sita Rawlley (1977).