Viraj Madappa wins MP Cup 2021 by a single shot

Viraj Madappa wins MP Cup 2021 by a single shot

Viraj Madappa birdied the 18th hole to end his three-year winless streak on the Professional Golf Tour of India.

The 23-year-old Madappa posted a two-under 70 on the final day to end up with a tournament tally of 14-under 274 at the Delhi Golf Club. 

Khalin Joshi, a seasoned pro, who was on his way to win the tournament title till the 12th hole, slipped on the last six holes to sign a card of one-under 71 and finish runner-up at 13-under 275.

Three-time Order of Merit Champion Rashid Khan, who was one of the top three contenders till the 14th hole, dropped three shots over the last four holes to end the week in third place at 11-under 277.

Viraj Madappa and Khalin Joshi

Viraj picked up a cheque of Rs. 11,31,550, which pushed him up from ninth to third place in the PGTI Order of Merit.

Runner-up Khalin Joshi moved up from seventh to fifth place in the PGTI Order of Merit.

Chandigarh’s Yuvraj Singh Sandhu (69) finished fourth at nine-under 279. While, Pawan Kumar of Delhi, who shot the day’s best score of 5-under 67, ended his campaign at tied 11th place.

Indian star Shiv Kapur finished tied 16th at two-under 286.

Karandeep Kochhar continued to lead the PGTI Order of Merit after he ended the week in tied 20th place at one-under 287.

Posted on: 2021 Oct 9 Sat
Posted by: