Rashid Khan part of four-way tie for lead at MP Cup

Rashid Khan part of four-way tie for lead at MP Cup

Rashid Khan posted a solid 5-under 67 to share the first-round lead with Chikkarangappa S, Manu Gandas, and Baisoya at Delhi Golf Club.

The three-time Order of Merit champion Rashid Khan made six birdies and one bogey in his spectacular first-round to sit atop of leader board along with three others.

Manu Gandas, the winner of the 2021 Telangana Open, and Chikkarangappa S, the winner of the 2021 Players Championship, were tied for the lead at five-under 67 with equally proficient Ajay Baisoya.

Gulfam Pappan of Delhi and Shravan Desai of Ahmedabad were chasing the leaders at four-under 68. The duo finished in a tie for sixth place.

Rashid Khan
Rashid Khan

Rashid, who has posted top-20s in the last three events, began the day with a bogey after finding the bushes on the 10th. Khan made up for the early setback with birdies on the 12th and 18th.

He then made a move with four straight birdies from the third through the sixth courtesy of his terrific putting as he drained putts from a range of 10 to 20 feet.

Chikkarangappa, currently second in the PGTI Order of Merit, made seven birdies and two bogeys during his 67, which featured a 40-feet birdie putt on the 12th.

Indian star Jyoti Randhawa and PGTI Order of Merit leader Karandeep Kochhar of Chandigarh shot scores of 71 to be tied 25th.

Star attractions SSP Chawrasia (73), Shiv Kapur (74) and Olympian Udayan Mane (75); were placed tied 50th, tied 61st and tied 76th respectively.

Posted on: 2021 Oct 6 Wed
Posted by: