Ajeetesh, Harendra and Honey Baisoya share the first-round lead at Delhi-NCR Open Golf Championship 2021

Ajeetesh, Harendra and Honey Baisoya share the first-round lead at Delhi-NCR Open Golf Championship 2021

Key Highlights:

→ Three-way tie for lead at the Delhi-NCR Open

→ Rashid and Trishul shoots 65 to be tied- fourth

→ PGTI Order of Merit leader Karandeep occupied T-22 spot

Ajeetesh Sandhu, Harendra Gupta, along with Honey Baisoya were tied for the lead at six-under-66 in round one of the Delhi-NCR Open Golf Championship 2021 on Tuesday.

Rashid Khan and Trishul Chinnappa carded a splendid 67 on the first day to claim tied-fourth spot, one shot behind the leaders at the Golden Greens Golf Club in Gurugram.

The 2019 Jeev Milkha Singh Invitational champion Ajeetesh carded a flawless 6-under 66 in the first round with the help of 6 birdies.

Ajeetesh said, “I had a great start today as the birdies on the first two holes really got me going. But a few missed chances on the greens slowed down my progress after the turn. Nonetheless, I’m happy to have kept the errors out. I used my 5-wood to great effect today. It’s a club that I’ve always favoured and been comfortable with. I feel I have more control over it in contrast to a Rescue.

 “I really like the design and the layout of Golden Greens. The tee shots here can be quite a test.”

Harendra Gupta
Harendra Gupta

A five-time winner on the PGTI, Harendra Gupta smashed seven birdies at the cost of a lone bogey on Tuesday at Golden Greens Golf Club.

Harendra said, “My short-game had always been my strength. But I’ve been struggling with it since last season, especially my putting. The last two events I played, I struck the ball really well but it didn’t show in my results as my putting let me down.

Honey Baisoya, the winner of the Delhi-NCR Open’s inaugural edition in 2018, made seven birdies and one bogey in his spectacular 6-under 66 first round.

Rashid Khan, currently the highest-ranked Indian in the world at 311, mixed an eagle and four birdies with a bogey for his 67. Trishul Chinnappa, who too fired a 67, had an identical card.

PGTI Order of Merit leader Karandeep Kochhar of Chandigarh, Kolkata’s Rahil Gangjee, and Pune-based Udayan Mane were all in tied 22nd place with matching scores of 71.